Publication Date


Degree Name

Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT)

First Advisor

Jack Millett


The primary purpose of this study was to investigate and document the stages and levels of reflection based on the Millett, Rogers, & Stanley Framework for Reflection as they manifested in the working lives and professional contextual realities of three experienced teachers. Their Framework is a four-step model of reflection that looks at the reflective cycle in terms of the stages of Experience, description, Analysis, and Intelligent Action. It further categorizes the skill of reflection in terms of Beginner, Intermediate, and Advanced levels. The second goal of the study was to examine the development of the reflective process in a supervised learning community environment over a ten-month period. The study was done to present teachers and teacher educators with concrete examples of what reflective teaching looks like as a skill and as a process. The findings of this research are presented, the Framework for Reflection is critiqued, and suggestions are made for further research.


Educational Assessment, Evaluation, and Research | Educational Psychology | Teacher Education and Professional Development